UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2023

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2023

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2023 are now accepting applications. The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation honor individuals and organizations for their outstanding efforts to repair or protect structures, sites, and items of heritage importance in the region. It encourages property owners to carry out conservation projects in their communities, either on their own or through public-private partnerships.

Since its inception in 2000, the Awards program has recognized 278 projects from 27 Asia-Pacific countries for their comprehensive understanding of their locations, sound technical achievements, and demonstration of social, economic, and environmental consequences at all levels. By recognizing these practices, the Awards program has made a significant contribution to advancing a regional conversation about what constitutes cultural heritage, who is responsible for its stewardship, and how cultural heritage can contribute to the long-term well-being of cities, societies, and the environment.

Award Categories

Winners will be announced in November 2023 according to the following levels of achievement: Award of Excellence, Award of Distinction, Award of Merit, Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts; and Special Recognition for Sustainable Development.

  • The Award of Excellence represents the highest recognition in the Awards programme, and is presented to projects that display exceptional achievement in all criteria, and that demonstrate a major catalytic impact at the national or regional level.
  • The Award of Distinction is given to projects that demonstrate outstanding achievement in all criteria and are making a significant impact at the national or regional level.
  • The Award of Merit recognizes projects that demonstrate superior achievement in all criteria.
  • The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts is given to newly-built projects that demonstrate outstanding design and are well integrated with historical contexts. Submissions of completed new architecture and designs that enrich an existing heritage setting are encouraged. Building annexes, new extensions, new buildings, new public spaces, and new structures – such as bridges – are all eligible for consideration.
  • The Special Recognition for Sustainable Development was introduced in the 2020 Awards cycle to recognize projects that demonstrate noteworthy achievement in the overall Awards criteria and promise a significant contribution to sustainable development. Projects that are submitted to either the Conservation or the New Design category of the Awards programme are eligible for this recognition.

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Eligibility

  • Projects entries must have been completed within the last 10 years (February 2013 – June 2023 if pre-existing use was retained, or June 2022 if a project has a new use).
  • Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for submission.

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Application

Entries for the 2023 Awards programme must be submitted via the online entry platform before the deadline. In addition, the project dossier with supporting documentation, including a description of the project in the official format, and drawings and photographs in hard and soft copy formats, should be posted to UNESCO Bangkok by mail and be postmarked no later than 30 June 2023.

Deadline: June 30, 2023

Apply here

For more information, visit UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards.


Never miss an opportunity Join our WHATSAPP GROUP OR WHATSAPP 2



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *