Call for Application: UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 |$150,000 Total prize

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 are now accepting applications. Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have recognized excellence and innovation in literacy. There have been 506 initiatives and programs acknowledged by governments, non-governmental organizations, and people all across the world. UNESCO aspires to support good literacy practices and the promotion of dynamic literate societies through these renowned Prizes.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea, it gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): Established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China, it gives special consideration functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 Theme

As in the previous editions, six awards will be granted to individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning. For this year, the programmes are requested to reflect around the theme “Promoting literacy for a world in transition: Building the foundation for peaceful and sustainable societies”.

The theme emphasizes how literacy plays a crucial role in empowering individuals and communities to adapt and establish peaceful and sustainable societies, especially during times of change and social, economic, and environmental challenges.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 Awards

  • UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize: Each prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
  • UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy: Each prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 Eligibility

  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning through projects and programmes.  
  • Applications should be submitted to the nominating entities either the National Commission for UNESCO in the programme’s country, or a NGO in official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to submit the nominated individuals, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO. 

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023 Application

  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities:  28 June 2023 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 12 July 2023 (midnight, Paris time).

Deadline: July 12, 2023

Candidates can submit their applications through the online platform.

For more information, visit UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.


Never miss an opportunity Join our WHATSAPP GROUP OR WHATSAPP 2



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *